Nope, I'm not.

Panoramania

I’ve been spending a bit of time playing with the panoramic function on my iPhone lately. I know that I can shoot panoramas using my DSLR, but the iPhone’s version gives some truly freaky results, plus a phone enables me to be a little more incognito while shooting.

©Rena Katinas

©Rena Katinas

I spent 12 minutes shooting the subway platform from a full-on position, trying to keep the perspective lines horizontally level while also trying to keep the up-sweeping movement straight at the same time. If i carried my tripod with me wherever I went, both of those things wouldn’t be an issue, but I’d miss a lot of stuff while fiddling with said tripod. So anyway,  after 4 tries I started thinking about what a boring photo this was turning out to be. Next thing I knew, my train was here and I shot the above image as a last ditch effort just to get something usable. It took a matter of seconds, because I didnt want the train to leave without me. Wouldnt you know it? It turned out to be the most interesting shot of the session.

Below is the shot that gave me the “ho hums”. In my next post, I’m going to throw some of the freaky shots from the streets above.

©Rena Katinas

©Rena Katinas

4 responses

  1. Very nicely done. I agree, the upper one is much more interesting. I’ll have explore this with my iPhone. Thanks for sharing it.

    November 11, 2014 at 8:45 pm

  2. Thanks! Yeah it’s definitely worth playing around with. I’ve found you have to almost turn your body into a tripod or find a stable leaning spot, since the iPhone captures the shot “live”, but it’s a real hoot!

    November 11, 2014 at 9:58 pm

  3. Thanks for the tips. I did a Google search on iPhone Panorama and came up with this http://iphonephotographyschool.com/panorama-photos/
    It is a bit old but might good.
    Tim

    November 11, 2014 at 10:16 pm

  4. Cool beans!

    November 11, 2014 at 11:11 pm

Leave a Reply

