Nope, I'm not.

Who Wants to Play Zombie Run! in Palmer Square?

©2010 Rena Katinas

Took a photo of Palmer Square and thought I’d have a little fun with it in Photoshop. I’m fairly happy with the results. This is my dog’s favorite spot in Logan Square, a favorite among babies and friendly dogs alike. I would love to get a game of Zombie Run! going here, as Palmer Square is a good 2 blocks long. Plus there’s just enough people stranger than us hanging about, that no one would notice myself and a group of friends running from invisible zombies. Anyone?

6 responses

  1. Sunny

    Wow, this is a really amazing effect! Do you have any tutorials on how you achieved this? You should really check out Alexa Meade Art, she’s an awesome up and coming artist, your work reminds me of hers. Hope you get to organise a zombie run 😉

    June 21, 2010 at 11:43 pm

  2. Excellent photo!

    June 22, 2010 at 11:33 am

  3. renakatinas

    Sunny, I noticed you’re in Australia, and I’m in Chicago, so you’re probably in bed at this time! Do you use Photoshop CS4? Let me know. Also here is a link to a larger and more complete (but slightly more processed) version of the image on my flickr page: http://www.flickr.com/photos/artgrrrl/4723572084/sizes/l/ hopefully the link opens to the largest size.

    June 22, 2010 at 1:27 pm

  4. What a cool image. I would be interested to know a little more about how you created the image in Photoshop too.

    July 14, 2010 at 1:53 am

  5. this photo is awesome! great job.

    December 1, 2010 at 9:14 am

  6. renakatinas

    Ugh! I lost all my applications with my hard drive many many months back. New hard drive installed and now I can open Photoshop again. After I did the standard stuff of adjusting the levels, etc., I ran a filter to increase contrast in the edges of the leaves, tree trunk and grass. I can’t for the life of me remember what filter I used, but I think there’s more than one way in Photoshop to do that.

    After that I ran Topaz Clean 3, which is the filter that did most of the work. The preprocessing BEFORE I used Topaz Clean only served to get a more suitable image (more defined edges) so that the Topaz filter could focus on simplifying the textures I chose rather than all textures in the image.

    One other thing, before you use Topaz Clean, reduce your image size to the final dimensions you plan on displaying it as, then do your preprocessing and run Topaz. If you run Topaz on a large image and then reduce the size, for displaying on a web page for example, you may not see the nifty effects.

    Anyhoo, sorry it took so long to get back to this!

    April 29, 2011 at 3:35 pm

Leave a Reply

